Education Foundation Logo

Golden Apple Awards

  • Now Accepting Nominations!

    Deadline:  February 15, 2022

    Comments (-1)
  • The Education Foundation Golden Apple program was created to recognize and honor teachers who have made an impact on their students, either academically or personally.  Each year, teachers from across Roanoke County Public Schools are nominated by students, parents, co-workers and administrators to receive the Golden Apple Award, the highest award presented to a teacher by the Education Foundation.  In addition, one teacher from the elementary, middle and high school levels is presented the Red Apple Award; and one teacher who has taught less than 3 years will receive the Green Apple. 


    The award will be given to a teacher who has demonstrated accomplishments in the classroom and/or with individual student performance.  Criteria is based on, but not limited to, effectiveness as a role model; making learning fun and exciting; mentoring students; and making an impact on students' lives.


    To nominate a deserving teacher, fill out the nomination form (online or print version) and return it to Chuck Lionberger, Roanoke County Public Schools Education Foundation, Inc., 5937 Cove Road , Roanoke , VA 24019 ; Fax: 540-562-3992.

    The deadline to submit a nomination is February 15, 2022.

    All Nominees will be notified and asked to complete an application. Several finalists will be chosen from the applications and will be required to submit a short video of a typical classroom lesson and answer a narrative based on the award criteria.

    Five winners will be chosen by a selection committee made up of Foundation Board members, administrators, teachers, parents and community members. One grand prize winner will be chosen as the Golden Apple; one Red Apple winner will be chosen for each level of education - elementary, middle and high school levels; and one winner will be chosen for the Green Apple, a teacher who has taught less than three years. The winners will be announced at the Golden Apple Award celebration.

    The Golden Apple Winner will also advance to the Salem-Roanoke County Chamber of Commerce as the Educator of the Year for Roanoke County.

Golden Apple Awards trophy