About Our School

  • Glenvar Middle School entrance

    Glenvar Middle School opened for the first time in September, 1996. Built on a sixty-acre site in western Roanoke County, it is connected to Glenvar High School and next door to Glenvar Elementary School. The building underwent an extensive reconstruction project in 2001-2002, at which time several new classrooms, a forum, a cafeteria, a new gymnasium, a music room, a media center, and a new cafeteria were added.

    The Glenvar community's rich history includes stories of Native Americans, settlers, Revolutionary War heroes, as well as soldiers from the Civil War. There are also sites of forts from past wars. A native of this area contends that the name Glenvar came from the name of a local resident's daughter, Mary Glenvar Harmon. In the early 1900's, the Norfolk and Western Railroad established a train stop here and needed a name for the stop. Since the family was quite prominent, it was decided to name the stop for this young lady. Another theory researched and developed by a local contends the name "Glenvar" was first encountered in 1890 and within the pages of the Salem Times-Register. The name appears attributed to a local farm being sold by one Major Robert D. Martin to a group of investors. His home on the farm remains as an ever-present landmark in our community, none other than the Deyerle House. Regardless of which account is accurate, Glenvar has been used on numerous businesses and schools within our beautiful area.

    The Glenvar school complex is surrounded by some of the most picturesque mountains in the world. Fort Lewis Mountain, Little Brushy Mountain, Twelve O'Clock Knob, Poor Mountain, and Bent Mountain are some of the names familiar to the residents of this valley.

    Glenvar Middle School is committed to excellence in education. The community atmosphere of our school is reflected in the excellent cooperation between our students, teachers, and parents.